What happens in the past , stays in the past… or does it?

Another day day has passed and yet here I am still thinking about the past. Do you ever get these moments of days/ moments that have gone by that get you wishing you had the life from your past. As we age, our group of friends changes, our environments change, our homes change and sometimes our countries even change. We wake up one day and stumble across an old memory of something from our past and it makes us reminisce about the way things used to be. I had one of these moments today.

I was having a conversation with a friend and a memory from my past suddenly came into my mind. Once I spoke of that memory, I started to think about the time when it had occurred and it dawned on me. It had been almost ten years since that moment and I was shocked when the words “ten years” left my lips. Had THAT much time really gone by? I thought back to the different life I had ten years ago and the different friends and surroundings I had. It’s crazy to look back and think of those times. I remember them vividly and as if they were yesterday. It did bring up a slight nostalgic feeling and I did feel a little loss as well. A loss of my younger years. A loss of a time when, yes I was upset at times, but a time filled with a lot less stress and responsibility. Oh those were the days…

And as I sit here and type these words, I continue to reminisce about the good ‘ole days, they also remind me to enjoy the life I am currently living. I cannot continue to be looking back at my life in the future and wish I was back there. I want to enjoy the time I am currently living, so that my future self knows to also appreciate the future that is in store for me. I often naively believe that everything happens for a reason as despite knowing better and supposing, maybe not EVERYTHING happens for a reason, that saying still somewhat rings true for me and it is one I enjoy living by. Even if the saying ends up not ringing true for a multitude of reasons, I’d then just like to believe it is true, so that I eternally live as a blissfully naive individual filled with optimism of what’s to come.

I am now signing off because as you have read from the past few lines, I am clearly exhausted, and require much needed sleep.

Sincerely,

Your newfound blissfully naive optimist

2 Replies to “What happens in the past , stays in the past… or does it?”

  1. When I graduated High School, I didn’t know it at the time but I was already dead. I was told if I just went to College I would have friends and a career and a life almost automatically.That could not happen and I was doomed. I had poor grades in school except for science and math. Then, I just assumed that even though I had zero social life, all I had to do was become a scientist or engineer and everything would be fine — friends would come after I succeeded… It’s been more than 50 years since then and I realize that had I been hit by a truck and killed at my peak of optimism, I would have died happy. Now I know I was destined for a life of failure and I will probably have a painful death. It’s too late probably to change or succeed at anything. I have my college diploma somewhere in a closet collecting dust. It’s been worthless to me.

  2. I read this and it rings very true. We are taught to believe early on, that school and diplomas are the “do all and end all” and without one, you won’t succeed in life. I hate that way of thinking and truly am listening and hearing what you wrote. I am sorry this has happened to you, but I hope you see that you are not destined for a life of failure and everyone is important in some way. Keep being strong and most importantly, keep being you! Thank you for your comment !

Leave a comment